Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Super Dry Brisket - What Did I Do Wrong?

Hi everyone, cooked a super dry choice brisket flat (~6 lbs) yesterday and I'm trying to figure out where it all fell apart.  I'm a total newbie, with only a week cooking on my new Large BGE under my belt so I'm hoping to leverage everyone's expertise.  I put a dry rub on the brisket the night before and started it up at 8 AM the next morning.  I had the egg dialed in at around 200-225 for 8 hours but it wasn't getting past 130 degrees internally and there was really no bark at all on it.  Started to panic a bit around 4 pm because everyone was arriving around 5 pm so I tried to wrap it in foil with some beef broth to accelerate the process, I brought the egg up to around 400 degrees for the next two hours.  It came up to 190 degrees and I had to remove it at that point but for some reason it was bone dry and not at all tender which surprised me, I thought I'd just lose out on the bark and not the tenderness.  I obviously need to plan better next time, but I'm really disappointed and not sure what went wrong.  Should I start the brisket at a higher temp (~275) next time?  When do you typically wrap in foil or is that not necessary to keep it moist?  I realize everyone has their own views on wrapping but I'm curious.  I also only really let the brisket rest for about 20 minutes because I was jammed time-wise, I'm assuming that also contributed to this?  Sorry for the long post, just really curious for everyone's hints here.  Thanks in advance!
LBGE, 2016 Rookie Year; Southern CT

Comments

• SGH