Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Looking at purchasing a XL Egg

i have begun construction on an outside kitchen and have always been interested in the Egg.

First off let me say that I'm not a newbie to cooking of anytype or style. I have been grilling, smoking, roasting on my Webers for over 40 years. I'm am very comfortable BBQ'ing for 2 or 300, something I have done at least 25 times. I have cooked on every fuel source, but always prefer coal.  
I live in California, so we are out side BBQ'ing year round, and if it's too cold, I have an indoor grill, so you see I grill a lot.

I have only heard great things about The Big Green Egg, and I cant wait to have the Smoking and Oven capability's it offers.

I have a few questions regarding the Egg, that I need answered.

First off, in grill mode I have heard the only drawback is 2 zone cooking is hard to do, But as I look at the size of the coal box, almost 18 inches, I don't see this as a problem...to have a fire burning on just one side, maybe the comments relate to the smaller eggs where the coal box is much smaller...either way, If someone could comment on that it would be great to know your thoughts or experiences.