Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

RIBS

msfgroup
msfgroup Posts: 21
Good Afternoon Fellow Eggheads I am extremely new to the BGE I tried baby back ribs yesterday and the taste was awesome.  However, they seemed a little tough and were very difficult to get off of the bone.  I prepared them as follows: BGE @ 250 degrees Ribs covered with RUB on night before.  I cooked the ribs for 3 hours in a rib rack sitting in a drip pan then poured about 1/2 inch of apple juice and covered with foil and cooked another hour.  Lastly I uncovered the ribs removed from rack and pan basted heavily with BBQ sauce and cooked another hour. This Totaled 5 hours at 250 degrees.  I was expecting them to fall off of the bone tender but it could not have been further from that. As I said in the beginning VERY NEW 3rd cooking any help would be appreciated.  I am curious if having the rack sitting in a drip pan was part of the issue being shielded from the indirect heat.  Please HELP

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880
    edited November 2013
    Tough and stuck to the bone normally means they were undercooked. Rather than cooking to time you will have better results cooking to temp. Granted some people can tell done ness by the bending method but a better method is measuring the meat temp between the bones. To do that you might want to buy a Thermapen. A reading of 196 to 200 is pretty good chance of success. BTW have you checked the calibration of your dome thermometer? Brand new does not always mean it is caliberated correctly.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.