Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Steak Cook Temps & Cook Times

I got my egg back in September and I have had pretty good success with a variety of different things so far.

Steaks, burgers, rack of lamb, pork butts, pizza and cedar plank salmon.

We eat steak pretty often and I am still learning the cook times etc of certain steaks on my egg.  i.e. We have some fairly thin NY Strip steaks and I have found that if I get the Egg up to 700 or higher, a minute on each side gives me the perfect temp.  I cook all my steaks rare to medium rare.

I have had similar luck with thicker rib eyes doing them at about 2 1/2 minutes on each side, but I struggled with Filets the other day getting the temp right.

So, I was wondering if anyone has a chart or basic grill temps that they cook different cuts of beef and cook times etc.  I am starting to make a chart for me so that I don't need as much trial and error, but if anyone out there has already suffered through the trial and error I'd like to avoid it if possible.

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,671
    i dont go by times anymore since getting a thermapen. i use the trex method with thick steaks, 122/123 for thick strip steaks, 125/127 internal for thick ribeyes seems to work well for me. i lean more rare on a chewier strip steak. do a search on trex and hot tub steaks and reverse sear, thicker steaks do better with these methods
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522