Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie ribs? Looking for a first-time, idiot-proof way to cook them

acegg77
acegg77 Posts: 120
Newbie here. Have BGE for 4 months. I'd like to try to cook a small rack of ribs (only 2 of us at home now.) I'm going to Costco tomorrow where I know they sell ribs. I thought I'd get a rack and cut it in half and freeze one half.

Would someone point me to a simple and maybe somewhat "quicker" way to cook ribs so that I don't screw it up the first time? There are a million posts here... which one will be helpful for a first-time rib cook? 

Oh, if I cooked a full rack, can you freeze half of it? Will it be any good later? 

Thanks.

Comments

• Mr Holloway
    Mr Holloway Posts: 2,034

You can check out the turbo method, It works well.

I would only cook what you are going to eat. Never tried but I am not sure cooked ribs would thaw and reheat well.

Ribs can take a few attempts. Grab some beers and enjoy the cook

Shane

• Buy St Louis cut, use a dry rub of choice, put on egg at 250 about 5 hours later take them off and eat them. Use BBQ sauce of choice or none.
    Simple enough for even me to get them right.
    Bob
    Cookin' on the coast
    Shellman Bluff, GA
    Medium BGE

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,168