Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Meat is tasting too smokey?

Janice
Janice Posts: 2
edited April 2012 in EggHead Forum

Hi.. I am fairly new at this.  I am finding the meat a bit too smokey.  I have been reading the other posts 
on this topic.  I now let the smoke go for at least 1/2 before I put my meat on.  

I just read that drippings can cause smoke and will flavour the meat and also cooking with the gaskets closed 
will increase the smoke taste.  I don't use any wood chips at all at this point. 

Can anyone offer any further advise to help on this ?

Thanks...Janice

Comments

• What kind of charcoal do you use?
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • paulheels
    paulheels Posts: 457
    Never clOse the daisy wheel completely. Letting the smoke clear some after startup is a good start. Different lumps will produce more than others.
    Some meat will be flavored by smoke more than others. Poultry and fish are bad for that.
    Keep cooking and learning. You will get it.
    thebearditspeaks.com. Go there. I write it.
  • NibbleMeThis
    NibbleMeThis Posts: 2,295
    I don't go by time to preheat, I go by the color of my smoke. White thick smoke means it isn't ready yet. You want "sweet blue", thin wisps of smoke, almost clear. Sometimes that can take 45 min.
    Knoxville, TN
    Nibble Me This
  • Brownie
    Brownie Posts: 1,023