Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Boston butt question..On the egg now

Tbonez3858
Tbonez3858 Posts: 102
edited June 2013 in EggHead Forum
I put a couple of pound butts on last night at 350. I got up multiple times to check and the temp was locked on 250 all night. I checked temp at 9:00am and the temp is only at 145. We are eating at 1:00 today so I went ahead and wrapped based off of the recommendation from a friend. Has anyone heard of a butt cooking this slow? I was told 1.5 hours per pound was typically a good guide...This is my first time smoking a butt so I'm a self proclaimed idiot at this point. Amy thoughts?

Comments

• CAT Seller
    CAT Seller Posts: 208
    Cooking at 230-250 temp, my b. butts take exactly 2 hous per pound.
    If it ain't a CAT, it's a dog!!! 2 LBGE's & BGE Backyard Chef Edition Cart
  • Tbonez3858
    Interesting...sounds like I shorted myself on the time..I hope the foil brings them up quickly.
  • JRWhitee
    JRWhitee Posts: 5,678
    The foil should have them done easily, maybe 2 hours.

Johns Creek, Georgia
  • Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,795
    JRWhitee said:
    The foil should have them done easily, maybe 2 hours.

+1.  Assuming you are cooking them at about 350 in the foil.

XXL BGE, Karebecue, Klose BYC, Chargiller Akorn Kamado, Weber Smokey Mountain, Grand Turbo gasser, Weber Smoky Joe, and the wheelbarrow that my grandfather used to cook steaks from his cattle

San Antonio, TX

• CAT Seller
    CAT Seller Posts: 208