Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need simple method for 1st time ribs

acegg77
acegg77 Posts: 120
I'm a total newbie with BGE... one month in. There are only 2 of us in the house... wife and I in early 60s... we don't eat like teenagers! I'd like to cook a short rack of ribs that I can buy at the grocery store.) I've never cooked ribs before on the old gas grill.  I don't have the first clue how to cook them on Egg and at this point just want a simple "no fail" method without a ton of prep. (Would there be a difference in cooking beef ribs vs. pork ribs. Don't remember what I saw in the store!) Please point me in the right direction for a simple cook. I can get fancy later on. What sauce to you recommend (we have Kansas City and some Cattlesman's in the house... from Costco.) Do you sauce it first? Use plate setter or raised direct or regular direct?  You guys are great... I know at least one of you was a scared newbie at one time and will help!! I don't want to fail at this if I can avoid it so I'm asking for your assistance. Thanks.

Comments

• It does not get any more simple than the way I do it. I put rub in them and smoke them at 250 until they are done. 

Cattleman's is fine to use. Don't sauce them until the last 30 minutes or so if you sauce at all.

They aren't hard to do. 

I assume you have a platesetter to do indirect cooks correct?

Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873

It does not get any more simple than the way I do it. I put rub in them and smoke them at 250 until they are done.