Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Japanese Rice...Shogun style?..OT

SWMBO wants me to try and make rice like you get in a Japanese restaurant. I love that stuff too. Anybody ever do it? Any help, advice, tips, or tricks would be great. Thanks

LBGE,SBGE, and a Mini makes three......Sweet home Alabama........ Stay thirsty my friends .

Comments

• I make sushi about once a week and the key for me to make my own rolls was to nail down the rice process, without it, you're doomed to failure.  That said, I'm far from an expert but I can make my own rolls pretty easily they hold together/look as good as any local place in town.

Measure out a cup of rice, then rinse thoroughly.  You can do this in a fine mesh strainer running cold water over the rice while gently stirring until the water runs clear, 7-10 minutes.  Or place the rice in a bowl and fill with cold water, swirl around then drain; repeat until water runs clear, 10-15 minutes.  Once rice is completely rinsed, let air dry for 20-30 minutes then place in medium sized heavy bottom pot.  Fill with water until it appears just above the level of the rice, 1/2" or so.