Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to best use the Plate Setter?

Options
Hello!  I am new to the Big Green Egg and I am loving it.  When using the plate setter, do you place the food directly on the place setter or use another dish/platter?  Any other tips and tricks that you can share would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Keith

Comments

• Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    Options
    The platesetter I am sure has been used for countless things. Most however, use it as a heat deflector only to provide indirect heat when cooking. That said, it is mainly used below whatever cooking grid you cook on. Legs up with a drip pan "in" the platesetter then grate above that for low n slow. Platesetter legs down with ceramic feet/foil balls then pizza stone for pizza, etc
    Columbia, SC --- LBGE 2011 -- MINI BGE 2013
  • Greeno55
    Greeno55 Posts: 635
    Options
    The place setter is used to cook food indirectly by putting a heat barrier between the flame and the food. Like an oven, you want airflow all around your food, or pan. Depending on my set up, I will either place a grill on the inverted PS (legs up). I then will place some sort of drip pan on the late setter, also raised a little to prevent the drippings from burning and adding an unwelcome taste to he food. I use a cheap buck store cooling rack, others use balls of foil, When using legs down for say pizza or bread, I'll usually raise the stone or grid off the plate setting with some fire brick. Experiment and have fun.
    LBGE (2012), MiniMax (2014), and too many Eggcessories to list.  - Sudbury, Ontario