Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

PIZZA HELP PLEASE!!!!

So I did a pizza once before and I did not pre heat stone, I know that was my first mistake! The crust was gooey! So my plan tonight is plate setter legs up, pre heat stone, but what temp and how long do I cook it? And add flour to stone?

Comments

• I'm not an expert like many here, but I put the platesetter legs down, have a little space between the plate setter and the stone (aluminum foil, ex:) and cook around 500 degrees.  I put my pizza on parchment paper and cook it with the paper still on it (easy to slide on and off and no sticking).  Length of time depends.  You want the topping melted and the crust golden brown.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• Well roughly how long do u cook it?
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    I always cook pizza until it looks done.  If the top is done before the dough, I'll let the stone get hotter or lower the stone in the egg. If the reverse is true, I'll raise the stone in the egg. 

You really need to cook your first pie, make adjustments.  Where you get a good combination of temp and setup and time, you can remember that and reproduce it.  Once you get some practice, it's really easy to reproduce a consistently good pizza.  Keep cooking.
    Just raise the dome and take a peek.  I asked my grandma once when the meal would be done.  She said "when it's done".  Looking back, that was the perfect answer.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious