Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

??? for Wok Eggsperts

jfm0830
jfm0830 Posts: 987
edited November 2012 in EggHead Forum
My 16" wok from the Wok Shop in S.F. is scheduled to arrive today, I've picked out the recipe from the Breath of a Wok I plan to do and have all the ingredients in hand. Thanks @Village_Idiot for the referrals! Just waiting impatiently for the wok to arrive so I can season it. 

I am totally new to this type of cooking and newish to the Egg so I have a couple questions regarding time and temperature.

1) I am assuming the times and temperatures in Breath of a Wok are written with a stove in mind. I don't know what temperature they were assuming for the typical stove/range-Any ideas?

2) I am assuming one of the reasons for using the Egg is that you can go higher with your temps than with an indoor range. What temps do the Wok Eggsperts get their Egg up to before woking?

3) Do you keep the lid down to heat the Egg and then raise the lid and put the wok on to preheat once the Egg is at the target temperature?

4) The reason I was asking about stove temps vs. desired Egg temp was to see what it does to time in the recipe. For example these are just made up temps but if it is cooking at 350 on the stove and you do it at 700 on the Egg does that half the time? Do you guys have some rule of thumb you use to adjust recipe cooking times when you make them on the Egg? I know you cook it till it's done, but I don't know what that looks like nor how long that takes.

Thanks in advance
Jim
3 LBGE & More Eggcessories than I care to think about.

Comments