Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Knives

noarmysargent
noarmysargent Posts: 91
edited November 2012 in EggHead Forum
Knives seem to be on going topic. I am a long time woodworker and have understanding how important good tools can be. I get so much good info from you guys so, maybe I can be of some help. The truth is, I can get a great edge on the cheapest knife I can find. The trick is keeping that edge. Quality is important. Not the name. Here are a few tips; Hand wash knives in warm water by hand. NEVER in a dishwasher. The knife will become weakened with extremely hot water. Never keep knives stacked in a drawer. They bang together. Metal to metal leads to damage. Sharpen more often. It is much easier to get the edge back. Practice, it's a simple technique. I do not believe in over paying for knives. You often pay extra for a name and not quality. My friends call me the Consumer Reports Guru. Not sure about that but.... The July 2012 issue of CR gives the example of Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Profection cost $600 for the set. They are great knives! For $75, you get the Ginsu Chikara set. It performs at the same level as the Henckels! Point- you can buy a good mid range knife that will give you great results with out over paying. When you can, buy in sets. It is a much better deal. Have a Great Weekend!

Comments

• Lit
    Lit Posts: 9,053