Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

smoking pork loins

Options

I have been using my egg for 7 years. i am satisfied with everything that i cook or smoke on the egg except pork loins either boneless or bone-in, they never come out tender, always tough. I have brined them and even soaked them in buttermilk and still no luck. I was told by a friend that i needed to inject them with the brine and then cover them with the brine for several days. I have purchased smoked chops from a local grocery store and they are very tender with a nice pink color to them and very tasty. Any ideas to get good tender pork loins would be appreciated.

Thanks, Larry

Comments

• Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options
    What temp are you cooking to? There is very little internal fat, so not much wiggle room with over-shooting.
  • billyray
    billyray Posts: 1,275
    Options

I always brine and cook to 140 IT. They are pink and moist. Here's a plum sauce we use.

Perfect Plum Sauce<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

1 can 16 oz. purple plums, pitted and pureed

2 Tbl. butter

1 small onion diced

1/3 cup brown sugar

¼ cup chili sauce

2 Tbl. soy sauce

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 tsp ground ginger

Saute onion in butter until clear, 4-5 minutes

Mix pureed plums and all ingredients together, add to the onion and bring to a boil, simmer 25 to 30 minutes.

It will thicken and become a beautiful red color