Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Prime Rib HELP!!

boysmom2
boysmom2 Posts: 5
Hi,
I'm new to the Big Green Egg and to the forum. I've used my Egg a few times and have been happy, but last night I made a Prime Rib roast and it was terrible!  It was a 3 rib roast and I cooked it at about 310 until the internal temp registered 140.  I took it out and let it rest a bit, but when I went to cut it, it was like cutting through stone.  It was EXTREMELY tough. The inside was pink though, but not moist at all...it was completely dry.  Any ideas what went wrong??? I was hoping to make my Christmas Dinner with this, but I'm having second thoughts now.
Thanks

Comments

• Folks are probably gonna want to know the set up you had prior to giving advice. Were you cooking indirect, direct ,raised grid ,ect.
    Ova B.
    Fulton MO
  • Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Do you know what grade the meat was? I suspect that, not the egg or cooking.

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Do you know what grade the meat was? I suspect that, not the egg or cooking.
    I agree with this. I recently did a prime rib and it sucked. The meat had very little marbling. You need that in prime rib.
    Sarasota, FL via Boynton Beach, FL, via Sarasota, FL, via Charleston, SC, via The Outer Banks, via God's Country (East TN on Ft. Loudon Lake)
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    I agree the quality is important.  You want fat marbling.