Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Problems

RGTERP
RGTERP Posts: 10
edited August 2012 in EggHead Forum
I am relatively new at this Eggperience. I have had my LBGE a little under two months. Chicken and steaks are great, I did slow cook baby backs on Saturday that were the best damn ribs I have ever eaten. But after four attempts my pizza's stink. The problem is I can't get the grill to stay hot enough. My husband and I purchased six fire bricks and laid them out as shown on several of the pages, but only after I had already heated the grill to over 500 degrees. Bam, temp goes down to 300 to 350 and barely rises--and I had the entire fire box full, charcoal blazing. after twenty minutes I finally but the pie up, but it was not up to par again. Short of getting a plate setter (which we are buying this week), any suggestions?

Comments

• Duganboy
    Duganboy Posts: 1,118
    Not really sure what you said about the fire bricks, but you need a platesetter if you are going to do a lot of indirect cooking.  It is probably the number one accessory that BGE sells.
  • njl
    njl Posts: 1,123
    How big is your pizza stone (assuming you put one on top of the fire bricks)?  If you can't get it up after putting the bricks on the grill, it sounds like you've constricted the air flow too much, and are smothering the fire.
  • ChokeOnSmoke
    ChokeOnSmoke Posts: 1,942