Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need quick answer -- pull brisket and pork when ALL parts are fork-twist ready?

Kimmykins
Kimmykins Posts: 12
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hi all:
I'm new to the BGE and am attempting my 3rd brisket and 1st pork shoulder.  First brisket was pretty juicy, second one was a little more dry.  Currently, my brisket meat is reading about 193 degrees in one area and a smallish area (near the center of the flat) is more like 184.  Almost the whole brisket is fork-twisty (is that a word?) but the one smallish area in the brisket is not quite fork twist ready.  The last time I did a brisket, when I waited for the whole thing to be fork-twisty, I thought it might have dried out the brisket too much.  Do you all take the brisket off when the WHOLE brisket is fork-twisty or MOSTLY fork-twisty? Do you find big temperature variations on the same piece of brisket?

The same question applies to the pork.  I'm not as worried about it because it's not quite there yet, but I am still finding some temperature variations across the piece of meat.

Comments

• Rolling Egg
    Rolling Egg Posts: 1,995
     I usually go with most of it tender. If the small portion thats not tender enough to twist don't turn out tender enough, you can always cube it up and add sauce with the burnt ends or something.
  • michigan_jason
    michigan_jason Posts: 1,346