Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Beef Brisket

OrangeandBrown
OrangeandBrown Posts: 5
edited May 2012 in Beef
I am new 'EggHead' having bought my BGE about one week ago.  I've been smoking for a few years, but mainly just pork butt/shoulder and ribs on an entry level metal Brinkman.

Anyway, I've never developed the courage to try a smoked brisket until I bought the BGE.  (My Christening of the BGE was a six pound pork butt out of the gate on the Egg and it turned out great.)  I bought a flat, cryo-vac'd beef brisket from Whole Foods that weighed in at 6.5 lbs.  I coated it with a thin layer of yellow mustard and then used a peppery rub (Rudy's BBQ), wrapped it in saran-wrap and let is sit for about 36 hours in my fridge (figured 12 hours would have been sufficient but decided to wait another day).  

I fired the Egg up at 6:30am and took it off at 7:15pm...slow and low w/ table-setter in smoking position.  I used some soaked hickory chips along with the BGE natural charcoal.  It hit the plateau right around 167 and hung out there for the better part of 3 hours and even dropped back down in the mid-150 range (is that normal?).  After continuing adjustments with the coals and dampers, it got going again around 4pm and started climbing through the 170s and then got to about 185 before I took it off (was too hungry to wait any longer).