Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Table design strength validation request

Bjorg
Bjorg Posts: 241
edited April 2012 in EGG Table Forum
Hi Eggers,
                I have designed a table for the XL egg I bought yesterday. I am no expert at google sketchup or carpentry but here is what I came up with:

Google Sketchup plans:

Pictures for those who dont have the free software: 

My issue:
The angled sections under the top table are drawers. The back of the table has a full length 1x6 supporting it, but on the front it only has the section between the legs strongly supported. I did strengthen the table behind the drawers to solidify that side 1x6 but I fear that the table is lacking support on the front exterior edges and that I should forget the drawer Idea. I dont want to be telling people not to lean on the table front corners. Should I go with my gut feeling and forget about the drawers and feel safe about my table or is this design strong enough?

I would of loved to hide my ash tool, grid cleaner, looftlighter and long tools in the drawers instead of hanging them (I will use a tarp and tarping a bbq with stuff hanging on the sides is a pain) 

Further info:
I will use IPE wood (very strong)
I will use Quikrete countertop mix and make a one section 2 inch top slab (3 inch concrete in front and back of the egg with rebar, is that sufficient?)
I will use the egg nest for table from BGE, elevating the egg 2 inches from table. 
The bottom front section of the table is on hinges and will be used for storage (just flip open). The woo2 fits nicely in there.