Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pulled chicken question

I got asked to provide pulled chicken for my kid's team. I have never done pulled chicken before so did a trial run this evening with a whole bird. I was originally thinking I would want it to go to a higher IT so it would pull better, like pulled pork, but everything I found online said to cook to 165. I did 165 and it pulled but there was resistance to the pull so I feel like I should let it go longer next time. For those who do pulled chicken, how high do you go on the internal temp?

Comments

• I am not a pulled chicken expert but I would probably be inclined to just do breasts. That said I am curious to he other responses 
    South of Columbus, Ohio.

• lkapigian
    lkapigian Posts: 11,029
    Pulled Chicken best done with Dark Meat, I’ll buy Costco Packs of bone in thighs , cook in pan to retain Jus , 170 -180 cover let rest… it will pull like pulled pork, enjoy ( season how you like , SPG for me )
    Visalia, Ca @lkapigian
  • There you go! I’ll have to try thighs next time.
    South of Columbus, Ohio.

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 33,477
    Search for @Mattman3969 posts regarding pulled chix.  He was a master and quite active here til a couple of years ago.  He also was the king of the diamond plate food presentation.  
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 33,191