Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Reverse searing

Options
KGilma2018
KGilma2018 Posts: 120
I've never done a reverse sear before.  I've got forward searing down pat, though.  I did a quick search, but didn't see anything saying how to do it.  I'm thinking about picking up a prime tomahawk from Costco for Friday nights dinner.  How do I do it on the egg?  Indirect first at 250 until IT is 110 or so?  Pull the PS, let the steak rest while it gets up to 550-600* then sear for 1-2 min per side?  
Franklin, TN

Comments

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Options
    I've never done a reverse sear before.  I've got forward searing down pat, though.  I did a quick search, but didn't see anything saying how to do it.  I'm thinking about picking up a prime tomahawk from Costco for Friday nights dinner.  How do I do it on the egg?  Indirect first at 250 until IT is 110 or so?  Pull the PS, let the steak rest while it gets up to 550-600* then sear for 1-2 min per side?  
    You got it although I’d pull at 115. Just a matter of preference. 
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • ScottStern
    ScottStern Posts: 34
    edited August 2018
    Options
    That's about it.  I tried it recently for the first time (see my latest post).  One thing I didn't do that would have made a difference is dry the steak with a paper towel after taking it off and then re-season with S&P or whatever rub you are using.   I pulled my steak a little more done that 110, but obviously that's all preference.
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options