Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

lighting for pizza

Options
DWFII
DWFII Posts: 317
So...kind of strange question (and hoping for a response in time for my fourth of July cook):

I am doing pizza (well, actually calzone) and want to start the fire somewhat quickly. I have starter cubes and could use those but it would take a while to get up to temp.

What I propose is to light a half chimney full of charcoal and dump it in the center of a nearly full firebox.

I've never done that before and don't want to allow the fire to get out of control--aiming for 450°-500° on the stone (I have an infrared laser). The pizza stone is elevated about three inches into the dome and the plate setter is in place.

Is this idea feasible? Any advice as to what dome temp I should shoot for? Any cautionary tales?

Any advice will be welcome.
Bespoke boot and shoemaker--45+ years
Instagram

Comments

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    You can definitely do that.  Keep an eye on the temp and start closing the vents down within about 100° of your desired temp.  Good luck and glad to see you and your egg coming to life.  

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • DWFII
    edited July 2018
    Options
    You can definitely do that.  Keep an eye on the temp and start closing the vents down within about 100° of your desired temp.  Good luck and glad to see you and your egg coming to life.  
    Thanks for the reply.