Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Ribs

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I smoked ribs today and have a question:
I applied a rub,let set overnight, smoked them for 7 hours at 200 degrees. I used the plate setter with a drip pan under the grate with 1/2 Apple Juice and 1/2 water. When I checked them they were still tough so I put the ribs in the apple juice pan and smoked them another hour. The ribs were still stuck to the bones and were hard to pull them off of the bones.

This is my first time using the BGE and I thought I would have better results than this.

Any help will be appreciated, Frank

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options

Do this:

Car Wash Mike Rib Lesson

The pan full of liquid is not necessary in the BGE.
  • Ashman
    Ashman Posts: 375
    Options
    You might want to check the calibration on your temp gauge. Might have just been a really tough pig. Did you pull the membrane? Good luck, remember its the journey that makes memories.

Gordon
  • Rush
    Rush Posts: 19
    Options
    I think 200 degrees is too low to get the ribs up to temp in order to break down the connective tissue and make them tender. If that is dome temp, you could have been cooking them at 160 over the water pan, which would explain them being tough due to under cooking. Possible solutions are cook at a higher dome temp or remove the water pan and cook at a slightly higher dome temp. I have cooked many racks at 215 grate (225 dome), and they take a long time (7-8 hours), but they are good!
  • Seven Seven
    Options