Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wireless Thermometer

Options

Hello Everyone,

I'm a BGE newbie here and would like to add a wireless thermometer, so I can be more consistent with cooks. I have been considering the flameboss 200, Thermaworks Smoke, or IGrill 2. What do you use and do you have any words of wisdom before I purchase? Is the Flameboss 200 worth 2-3 X more cash?

Thanks in advance.

Large BGE

Richmond, VA

Comments

• PSC
    PSC Posts: 148
    Options
    I use the Maverick and I'm happy with it
  • SmokingPiney
    SmokingPiney Posts: 2,282
    Options

I have Flame Boss 200 and I love it. I love the web interface - I don't have to worry about being out of range from the base unit.

Well spent money for my BGE.

South Jersey Pine Barrens. XL BGE , Assassin 24, Weber Kettle, CharBroil gasser, AMNPS 
  • blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    Options
    You're sort of comparing apples and oranges. A flame boss is more than a thermometer - it's a controller, and it's accessible from the web. If you want to remotely monitor and control the egg, for long cooks, it's great. But certainly not needed. 

As far as remote thermometers the only one I have experience with is the maverick. A little hard to program but it works well.

my only concern about the thermoworks unit (which I don't have) is all the controls are on the unit which stays outside. Seems like a hassle. 
    Chicago, IL - Large and Small BGE - Weber Gasser and Kettle
  • blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    Options
    And welcome to the forum!