Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Calling the dry-aging experts...

Options
I picked up a choice 19.55 lb whole ribeye yesterday. I am thinking about dry aging it and am looking for tips from the experts. I've never done this before but I've read a number of different threads about it here. I just want to make sure I'm not missing something.

Do I trim it up a bit before aging? It's still in the cryovac right now.

From the bits and pieces I've gathered here, I just put it in the back of the beer fridge elevated on a rack on a baking sheet  and let it dry out for 28-45 days. At that time, I slice into steaks and vac seal without trimming off the goodness correct? Then I enjoy the fruits of my "labor" and cook away.
L x2, M, S, Mini and a Blackstone 36. She says I have enough now....
eggAddict from MN!

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    micromhos, congrats on even thinking about dry aging.  In my experience, it's very rewarding, and for relatively little effort.

I'm sure someone will disagree with me, but in my opinion, there is no process where trimming is less important. On one hand, this supposition is based upon common "post trimming" after dry aging.  On the other, if you leave fat and other debris on your plate, you at least have the option of eating what you like, and want.