Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Hot Wings for First BGE Superbowl

So I got my mangrates in and 

So Superbowl Sunday has snuck up on me yet again.  Being a Falcons fan, I suppose it's selective memory.  Anyway, I traditionally cook wings on SS (I know, creative) and this is my first year with the BGE, so my hopes are soaring (like a Falcon or a Raven, TBD).  

I've read quite a few threads on here and elsewhere on the subject and it seems a rub is in order for my wings and possibly a brine.  I don't have any of the fancy name-brand stuff that I hear about around here (DP, Byrons, etc) and it's too late to order any.

So my question, are there local dealers (Atlanta) where I may be able to pick up these products, and if so what would I get, if not, any recommendations on a homemade rub for wings.

Thanks in advance!

SS
Flowery Branch, GA  LBGE

Comments

• Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    Coffee Rub (turkey, chicken, beef & pork)

Equal part: Instant Expresso Ground coffee

Equal part: Brown Sugar

½ part: Black Pepper

½ part: Kosher Salt

½ part: Garlic Powder

¾ part: Ancho Chili Powder

Don't worry on exact, just close on measurement. I used to use turbinado sugar but we like with brown better. This is pulled from MollyShark, Hungry Man, & Richard In Fl then tweaked. I find the ancho chili powder is far less expensive in the bulk spice area than the bottled area ( have used both light or dark version). I make it starting with a half cup Instant Expresso Ground coffee and work from there as it seems to store well if sealed.