Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need some help please

I plan on cooking a ham on the egg tomorrow. Never done one on the egg. Do I cook it like you do in the oven? We always do 325-350 for 20 minutes a pound in the oven. How do you do it on the egg? The ham is bone in, not spiral cut, and is 10.5 lbs. What temp to cook at, what internal temp do you cook to, about how long will this take, put in pan with water or put directly on grid, or should I use v-rack? Any suggestions on seasoning? I know this is a lot of questions but I am still a BGE rookie. Thanks for the help.

LBGE,SBGE, and a Mini makes three......Sweet home Alabama........ Stay thirsty my friends .

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    edited January 2013
    Look around for Egret's Ham. I assume it is precooked. It is the best, am not at my regular 'puter or would send you the link. Oops, just found it.
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Is the ham cured but raw, or cured and cooked, or uncured and raw?  If it's already cooked, you're basically heating it up.  If it's raw and uncured, it must be cooked hotter than raw and cured.

There should be some cooking instructions on the wrapper.  Cook to internal temp.  The egg temp isn't that important except to how fast it will cook.  I don't recommend using time and temperature as a sole method of cooking - they should be used just as a guide to estimate cooking time.
    Here's one I kind of like! :(|)

Egret's Ham

by John Hall (egret)

Ingredients:

Maple-Bourbon Paste (recipe follows)