Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef brisket - my first (need help)

FanOfFanboys
FanOfFanboys Posts: 2,615
edited December 2012 in EggHead Forum
So I am posting this ahead of Christmas in hopes to get some good responses before everyone starts drinking when the in-laws arrive. I am doing my first brisket for Christmas. It is just a shade under 10lbs and is a full brisket. I have zero knowledge of brisket. Should I inject? Rub the night before? I assume indirect at about 250-275? What internal temp do I pull at? What part do I cut to make the burnt ends? How do I make burnt ends? Again, zero knowledge on brisket. Only ate once in my life and was at a restaurant. Does anything need to be trimmed from the whole brisket? Jack Daniels wood chips be a good one to use? Whe answering there is no such thing as to much info or details. Thanks!
Boom

Comments

• This is just the way I do it--any others can give better advice.  Most of this comes from http://www.nakedwhiz.com/brisket.htm.

I rub 4-5 hours before hand.  Lots of people use just salt and pepper.  I've used Dizzy Pig's Cow Lick and this time I'm using Raising the Steaks.

Get the fire really stable before you put the brisket on.  I put it on the stainless steel grate over an inverted platesetter, with a drip pan filled 3/4ths the way up with water.  I try to keep my temp below 250 to start, planning on ~24 hours for a 14-15 pound full packer brisket.  Put the brisket on fat side down to help protect it from the heat.