Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket for first cook?

Options
acr
acr Posts: 27
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum
Is a beef brisket too risky a cook for my first cook on the BGE?

I don't even have the egg yet, getting it today (or tomorrow) but would love to use it for easter dinner.  A brisket would be awesome, but is it too risky?  Any tips for a noob?

Comments

• tazcrash
    tazcrash Posts: 1,852
    Options
    ok, I haven't done a brisket yet. but as a new noob myself... 

Don't over think it,
    Give the egg the time to stabilize it's temperature, don't rush it!
    Try not to peek

Don't sweat it. It's easier to cook good tasting food on this thing that I thought before.  

Good luck

Bx - > NJ ->TX!!! 
    All to get cheaper brisket! 
  • eggnited
    eggnited Posts: 94
    Options
    At Eggfest it was mentioned that new eggs are notorious for being all over the place with regard to temps and briskets are not the best for first cooks. As a newbie myself I think it's unnecessary....maybe even inadvisable to start with a brisket. Like others here said to me when I asked....take it easy the first time out...do easy/short cooks to play with your egg and get used to adjusting temps. I think that was and is good advice. FWIW
  • boatbum
    boatbum Posts: 1,273
    Options

There is a ton of good advice on here.    Also - check out Playing with Smoke and Fire website ( google it - it will show up).

Cookin in Texas
  • Hillbilly-Hightech
    Hillbilly-Hightech Posts: 966
    edited March 2012
    Options