Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT - Sous Vide Creme Brulée

Tixunau
Tixunau Posts: 71
edited January 2015 in Off Topic

Got a SV machine this past Xmas. I did a few cooks since but my latest was dessert. Followed ChefSteps receipe and method to the T.

Turns out very good. Moist, creamy and very intense flavour compare to the typical baking method. The only think I would chnage next time around is less sugar.

Cheers!

Comments

• ok- yes, yes, yes. I'm a chef steps guy too (great site). I'm all over this.

Thanks!

Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,731
    Bravo! Had not seen anyone do SV desserts yet.

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
  • paqman
    paqman Posts: 4,669
    Tell me more about this! Less sugar in the mixture or on top?

Link to the recipe please... I saw Baldwin's video handling hot bags and I thought ok... but this is great - serving containers ready to go!!

Toronto, Canada

Large BGE, Small BGE

• Tixunau
    Tixunau Posts: 71

@paqman. I would put less sugar in the creme brulee itself. I only put a very thin layer on the iop for the caramel.

@bigWader. Check out:http://www.chefsteps.com/gallery. Lots good recipes and loved the way how they 'modernized' the way they cook food.

Cheers!

• paqman
    edited January 2015
    Thanks for posting this @Tixunau‌ !

I tested the recipe tonight and it is spectacular!!! I followed the recipe (weighting all ingredients) and I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Fantastic!

imageimageimageimageimage