Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cryoconcentration

Options
rosem
rosem Posts: 48
I wanted to share an idea with everyone.

It's time to smoke a pork shoulder soon and I want to try an injection this time — I haven't done one before. Most of the injections for pork I've seen usually have a base of apple juice/cider with different mixes of added sugar, salt, apple cider vinegar, and spices.

I have a good knowledge of apple cider. I've been making hard cider for a few years now. Last year I got into ice cider (think ice wine, very high in sugar). I'll spare everyone the details, but basically the process to making ice cider is to start with a natural juice concentrate from the apple cider. Ideally with true cider apples that are higher in acid (and flavor)

One process to make the natural juice concentrate is through cryoconcentration. The principle is very simple — water in sugar freezes at a lower temperature. Because of this the first juice to melt has a higher sugar concentration.

A simple way to do this at home is to get a jug of apple cider, drink a little glass of it (you need room for it to expand), and then freeze it solid for a few days in your freezer. Once it's frozen you remove it from the freezer and invert it over another container to collect the concentrate.

The concentration that melts off is much higher in sugar and higher in acidity. It's also packs A LOT of apple flavor — very delicious.