Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chicken Thighs

doubleA
doubleA Posts: 20
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey Everyone,

I have been egging it up for about 6 months now and totally addicted (so is my wife). I have cooked 2 butts, 2 briskets, bunch of ribs, and my favorite item: roast chickens.

To the point: I recently saw a BBQ competition on TV and everyone did the same things: Ribs, pulled pork, and chicken thighs. There were some thighs on sale so I bought a pack. Anyone have a good recipe (rub?, direct/indirect, wood, and temp). Thanks for the advice in advance.

Thanks.

Comments

• Wise One
    Wise One Posts: 2,645
    Thighs are quite easy to do. The easiest thing is to use a good rub to liberally coat them and let them sit for about an hour in the refrig uncovered. Then place direct on a raised grill (or indirect if you would prefer) at about 350-400. Should take 30-45 minutes with turning them once. If you want to get fancier, bone them, pound them flat and then stuff and roll.
  • Davekatz
    Davekatz Posts: 763
    These are some of the best thighs I've cooked, but I say that about almost all of the thighs I've ever cooked ;).

crispythighs_P1030152093010_1.jpg

Thighs and Veggies

Crispy Thighs
    8-10 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
    2 tablespoons of your favorite barbecue rub (Dizzy Pig’s Shaking the Tree in this case)
    1-2 tablespoons kosher salt
    Olive oil