Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wood for new table??

Options
Bricktop
Bricktop Posts: 12
edited November -1 in EGG Table Forum
My brother is building me a table for my birthday and I would like to know what the best wood (reasonably priced) to use is. I know the BGE tables are cypress, but are there any alternatives? How does cedar hold up? I have no experience with wood, so any advice is appreciated.

Comments

• OMG Eggs
    Options
    I'm currently using dried doug fir. It has pretty decent outdoor qualities and looks better that ceder IMO. Mine will be under cover and will have a non-wood top, so the elements aren't as much of a concern for me.

There are a number of exotics that would work, but they are $$ and generally harder to work with.

Depending on where you are, different woods will have better availability. If you go to a real lumber yard and tell them what you're building, they'll point you in a good direction.
  • 68rustang
    Options
    They use Cypress because it is probably the least expensive.

Cypress, Cedar, Redwood, Teak in order of expense.

I just built a table using rough sawn cedar from Lowe's. I went through the whole stack and found 10 12' boards that were clear. Ran them through the planer at work once to smooth out the rough side. Didn't end up costing much more than using pine.
  • thechief96
    thechief96 Posts: 1,908
    Options
    We don't have cedar or cypress here. I used red oak. It was a bit pricey though.
    Dave San Jose, CA The Duke of Loney
  • russsims
    Options