Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need help with Car Wash Mike's Ribs

Green For Sure
Green For Sure Posts: 13
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm very new to the egg--bought a Large a few weeks ago and have already over cooked ribeyes and chicken breasts. I am trying Car Wash Mike's Ribs from the Cookbook for Eggheads and have a few questions:

1) Is it okay to marinate in the mustard and rub for ~30 hours? Thought I was going to cook them tomorrow, but may be Monday.

2) Directions say "use a large drip pan with foil inside the Plate Setter." What does that mean exactly? I purchased the Plate Setter, assume I use it legs facing up and put a foil drip pan in the middle but can someone confirm?

3) Next it says to "...cut them off and put them on top of the rib rack." I did not buy a rib rack, but bought a roast rack. Do I need a rib rack too? I have three slabs to cook. Honestly, I'm not sure I thought this through enough....

Thank you for anyone that can help, feeling frustrated thus far.

Brandon

Comments

• FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,676
    I would rinse the rub off then reapply 1 or 2 hours before the cook
    you are correct on the drip pan
    lay the ribs flat meat side up, you can use a rib rack if you need the space
  • i think, if you turn the roast rack upside down, you have a rib rack.
    XL   Walled Lake, MI

• thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Welcome to the neighborhood. Here is a photo showing the set-up you need.

CWMRibs03.jpg