Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Why Cook Burgers Using High Heat?

Options
Nitro
Nitro Posts: 70
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm an Egg Newbie, and looking forward to doing some serious cooking. However I thought I'd get used to the Egg with something simple like burgers.

I just cooked my 2nd meal of burgers on the Egg using the (supposedly recommended) high heat method. And I must say I'm not liking this method at all. Overdone and dry both times. Burgers were about 3/4 inch thick. First time, I got the Egg up to 650 deg and put the burgers on 2 mins each side. Then shut it all down for 3 mins. Not good! Too chared and totally dried out. 2nd time, I got Egg up to 550 and put burgers on for 2 mins per side. Shut everything down for 2 mins. Still overdone and dry.

The way I've been cooking burgers on my gasser is preheat to 600 (to get the grate hot), then back it down to 350-400 and put the burgers on. Cook them slow for 5-10 mins per side. The burgers come out perfectly seared, and never dry, even when slightly overcooked.

I just have to ask, why would anyone cook burgers using high heat? It seems way to touchy. Not to mention, I could barely taste any smoke flavor, which is the whole point of cooking over wood. Am I missing something? What are your opinions?

Thanks

Comments

• Little Chef
    Little Chef Posts: 4,725
    Options