Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New EGG owner....Temperature??????????

Ribaholic
Ribaholic Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello fellow Eggheads,
I am new to the egg world but am growing very fond of it! i recently purchased the "large" egg, and have only cooked a couple times on it. i have noticed that i can never get the temp. to settle very well. It varies twenty degrees on either side of my desired cooking temp constantly! it never will find a constant temp. Second.. is that i cant seem to get it to stay under 300. no matter what i do its 300+. I am a huge fan of slow smoking ribs and briskets so this spike in temp. is killing me! i even closed the air inlet door completely shut for over an hour, and wouldn't budge below 300. PLEASE.... lend me some experienced egg advice! Thanks Guys!!!!

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Dude,

There is a lot of mass in the egg. Things don't happen quickly. If you overshoot your temp you will wait a while before it comes down. Trick is not to overshoot. You will find if you are maybe 50* high and put the food in it will usually drop some. When you light it, leave the vents open for a few minutes to establish the fire and then go to your setting. Grandpas Grub will chime in with some examples.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• When the egg is cold take a dollar bill and close the lid on it in several places, it should pull out with resistance. It may be that too much air is escaping around the edges. Also definitely calibrate your thermometer using the Naked Whiz instructions