Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time at eggtoberfest...some questions!

Options
mdlindsa
mdlindsa Posts: 26
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi, I'll be attending Eggtoberfest for the first time this year. I am very new to this, and will be leaving with my very own egg! I signed up to cook, but am inexperienced with the EGG, since I don't have one yet. I wanted to give it a shot though. I was looking for some advice on what I should cook, as a first-timer. I also had some questions about the event in general.

Are paper plates and utensils provided, or should all cooks have their own to hand out?

Are their tables provided for preparation?

Also, as far as cooking tools go, is anything provided there? And are we allowed to bring tools in? (I know no Propane or MAPP torches are allowed on the shuttles)

Lastly, is there a way to find out what size EGG you will be cooking on? My uncle is coming with me and plans on doing a boston butt, but is wondering how much room he will have to throw other things on there.

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• Hoss
    Hoss Posts: 14,600
    Options
    You will need to bring EVERYTHING!As far as the Boston Butt,you will not have time to cook it on site.All you could do is precook it and warm it up to serve it at the fest.The only things provided is eggs,charcoal and beer!Correct me if I'm wrong veterans!
  • mdlindsa
    Options
    Ha, glad I asked...very good to know. How about the egg size?
  • PhilsGrill
    PhilsGrill Posts: 2,256
    Options