Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need Advice on Tile for Top of BGE Table

Options
davef
davef Posts: 6
edited November -1 in EGG Table Forum
I've been browsing vaious BGE table designs online and I've finally come up with a plan for mine. The problem is, I'd like to tile the top of the table, and I have no experience with tiling. Thus, I'm not sure how to apply it to avoid cracking as the wood expands and contracts due to temp and moisture.

Would one of you kind folks please tell me how they'd approach tiling a wooden outdoor table? Thanks!
Louisiana boy recently relocated to North Carolina. Not digging the bbq here, but trying.  Loving the weather, however. Go Tigers!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Dude,

I need to redo the top of mine. These guys here will give you the BEST advice... I think some must be master craftsmen by looking at their workmanship... some of tables here are like the "Martin Guitar" of ETables.

Be patient, you'll get good advice.

WPB
  • "Sparky"
    "Sparky" Posts: 6,024
    Options
    Hey Dave,to keep the tile from cracking,you'll need to install a concrete backer board first,then put the tile on top of that ;)Hardi-backer is one brand that is readily available(at least around here).Good luck with your project ;) Be sure to share some finished pics though ;)
  • Ripnem
    Ripnem Posts: 5,511
    Options