Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

brisket drying out twice

Options
traif boy
traif boy Posts: 20
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am a novice with xl geen egg. Here is what i did twice and my brisket both times was very dry. Purshased a packered cut brisket. heat the egg to 235.used the indirect place setter. Placed grill on top of plate setter. Put brisket on grill let tempature in meat to 160 (6-7 hours). Than wrapped in foil and let tempature go to 190. Pulled off grill and let sit in ice cooler with no ice for 1 hour and than cut. Both times brisket was very dry. I have tried calibrating the egg termomator in boiling water which it read about 212. used a external meat prob from william senoma. Any ideas would be great

Peter

Comments

• Mike in Abita
    Mike in Abita Posts: 3,302
    Options
    Sounds like you did everything right. May have just been bad meat? Did you get a Choice cut or better?

Might want to take temps in the thin section of the flat? That section will finish first. I will separate the flat from the point once the flat reaches 190 and goes into the cooler, then the point goes back on for another 2 hours or so.

Check out these two sites, I found these really helped when cooking brisket.

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/1996/03/brisket.html

http://www.virtualweberbullet.com/brisketselect.html
  • vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Options