Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Boil baby backs before?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am trying to find the tastiest way to prepare baby backs. I am new to preparing ribs and have heard diffrent opinions on pre-boiling ribs. Is precooking the way to help remove the membrane or do you just cut and pull it off. Any help would be appreciated. What would be the best book on how to prepare ribs?
Jerr

Comments

• Mop
    Mop Posts: 496
    Options
    Hi Jerry, its not necessary to boil ribs to remove the membrane.
    About half way up the rack I insert a phillips screwdriver between the bone and membrane usually right on top of a bone and then use my finger to begin lifting the membrane from the ribs.
    I find that if I 'grip' the membrane with a paper towel it won`t slip from your fingers, usually the strip of membrane will come of in one peice, other times you have to play with it a bit but it will come.[p]I then scrape off and excess fat and give the ribs a nice coating of dry-rub, let sit in the fridge overnight.[p]Prepare the smoker at 225º-250º with some applewood and cook the ribs indirect at those temps for 4 or five hours and you should have some fine tasting ribs..[p]Some people take longer in their cooking times, you'll have to find your groove...[p]Mop

• Marv
    Marv Posts: 177
    Options
    Jerr Smith,