Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Big Brisket Flat -- HELP!

Options
BourbeQGuy
BourbeQGuy Posts: 2
Not a total novice, but just 2 years into egg smoking.  Not my first brisket but definitely my first flat only.  I've searched through the board for recipes and read up.  I know I'm working with the lean end.  I am not planning on injecting, but I am willing to be convinced if that's the only way to keep a lean flat juicy. 

I have an 8.9 pound flat that I am going to cook Sunday.

Plan is 250 heat on egg.  Straight S&P rub.  Cook 4 hrs-ish to 160ish, wrap in foil, another two hours to hopefully 200.  Rest.  Should I take a different approach for a flat?  Plan differently time-wise for flat?  Appreciate any advice from the experienced folks here.  Thanks.  

Comments

• Botch
    Botch Posts: 15,485
    Options
    Flats are all I've ever cooked, and I've only turned out one bad one (and I think that was the cow, because the other one right next to it was fine).  I cook at 250˚, have never wrapped (but have never got one done in 4 hours either, usually takes me at least 8).  

"Pro-Life" would be twenty students graduating from Sandy Hook next month  

• GrateEggspectations
    Options
    As with @botch, I expect you might need more time. If you’re worried about drying, you can always add some bouillon into the foil when you wrap. 

Are you using any smoke wood?
  • Jstroke
    Jstroke Posts: 2,600
    Options
    Your plan is solid. I would allow at least an hour rest in the FTC cooler before slicing/serving.