Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Meat thermometer recs

Options
I’ve been using the ThermoWorks smoke for several years now and it’s on its last leg. What’s everyone using for their meat thermometers nowadays. I’ve already got a javelin pro for instant read. 

Thx!

Comments

• 6baluts
    6baluts Posts: 272
    Options
    - If you like the Thermoworks Smoke have you thought about staying with a Thermoworks product and getting the Smoke X series. Gives you two choices on the number of probes and if desired you can make it s non Wi-Fi PID controller with the addition of the Billows Fan. The associated standard remote with this unit is nice and has decent range.
    - I use the Tappecue Touch (Wi-Fi) as my go to thermometer. It can utilize both wired and wireless probes. If you desire you can make it a PID contoller by adding the cruise control option.
  • 4TheGrillOfIt
    Options
    The Smoke is hard to beat.  However, for most of my cooks using a  leave-in probe, I usually grab the ThermoWorks Blue Dot or Dot.  Super convenient and the magnetic back makes it easy to stick on the side of the BGE handle.  
    XL BGE, Large BGE, Small BGE, Weber Summit NG                                                                                               
    Memphis  
  • jtcBoynton
    jtcBoynton Posts: 2,814
    Options
    What do you mean by “on its last legs”?  My experience is that digital thermometers either work or they don’t. What’s going wrong with yours?  
    Southeast Florida - LBGE