Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First overnight

Options
Feeling all giddy with the first overnight in my xl...  doing two 7 pound boneless butts for some pulled pork for the weekend festivities.  

Rubbed down with my near famous dry rub.. (ok to my friends and family) I've been using it now for a couple years on the pellet.. so I know the Egg will rock these flavors! 

Dome temp running about 285° and the grill about 220°.  I've always had the best luck going on the grill cold for a deep smoke ring.  Water pan in the back for extra moisture.   Lid has gone down for a long slow overnight. 

Tomorrow,  I'll Amp up the heat and cook a corn pudding in the egg for the side...

Good night

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    Sounds like a good plan, have fun and enjoy the ride!
    Couldn't help myself as I had to check this morning.   I know about looking, but this is the first overnight after all and my temp had kept up over night. 

Set my Thermoworks for a low (200°) and high (250°) grill temp and went to bed with a consistent 221° around midnight.   At 730a the grill temp had risen to 240.1°, couple adjustments and getting it to lower back into my desired 220° range.  The probes were reading 178° and 169°.  I don't use a crutch so these will keep going for the duration. 

Estimating a couple more hours, want to hit that 200-03 mark, before going into the cooler for a nice rest.

• Plutonium
    Options
    Now that’s a recipe for some bark! Looking good already