Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Tips

I'm fairly new to cooking with a BGE.  Just got mine back around the 4th of July.  Found an amazing deal at a Lodge Cast Iron store that I couldn't pass up.

Looking to cook my first Pizza in the egg, and just been looking for a few tips.  What does everyone here prefer as far as cooking about the felt line?  Preferences between metal pizza pan and a pizza stone?  Any help would be appreciated.
Charlotte, NC with an XL BGE and Acacia Table

Comments

• MO_Eggin
    MO_Eggin Posts: 282
    A few suggestions -

cook above the felt line as high in the dome as you can manage so the top of the pie cooks at roughly the same rate as the bottom,

use a deflector (plate setter/conveggtor, etc.) in addition to the stone/lodge,

preheat the stone/lodge for at least 30 minutes,

make sure to burp the egg when opening the dome to avoid flashback  

make sure your dough recipe aligns with your cooking temps - doughs with sugar or oil will high temperature

after the cook, make sure to check your bands are still tight

Personally, I use a stone and no experience with the Lodge pan, and I usually cook at around 550*, I'm not trying to do neopolitan pies in under 2 minutes.

Good luck and welcome.
    LBGE - St. Louis, MO; MM & LBGE - around 8100' somewhere in the CO Front Range
  • MO_Eggin
    MO_Eggin Posts: 282
    oops, forgot a couple of words - make sure your dough recipe aligns with your cooking temps - doughs with sugar or oil will BURN AT high temperature