Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best Process for baking a medium think crust pizza

Options
I have a large egg with BGE stone.  What is the best process for cooking/baking a 14" pizza, time and temp, in making sure the bottom crust is crispy, the top of the pizza is adequate charred and the dough in the center being 100% cooked.  I hate doughy pizza! 

I have lots of experience with the egg have loads off accessories but have never cooked a homemade pizza on one

Comments

• butt_juice
    butt_juice Posts: 129
    edited July 2020
    Options
    If your not a dough expert, there are several on here, set your egg up for indirect and don't go much hotter than 425-450F dome. I like to turn my platesetter upside down, place an old round gas grill side-burner grate on the platesetter and set my pizza stone on top of that. 

Stone goes on 10 minutes before my pie, my stone is not the BGE stone, it is much thinner, maybe half the thickness, thus it goes on when I'm ready to cook rather than pre-heating it way in advance. At that temp, when cheese has a little brown to it, the crust will be done too. I peek in several times throughout cook and check bottom of crust with my peel. 

If you know your dough you can definitely cook much hotter but moisture content and sugar content of dough can cause unwanted burning if you cook too hot with the wrong dough. 

South Central Kansas
    Instagram: @midwest_voyager
  • eggsacutioner
    Options