Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Charcoal question

i am new to BGE. Thanks for having me in this forum. Learning a lot. I have a question about lump charcoal. I use my BGE as a pizza oven a lot. Recently I had a really hard time getting the temperature up to 600. I was attempting to use the smaller pieces of lump charcoal at the bottom of the bag. After a pretty good failure, I cleared the Egg and used larger pieces of lump charcoal. I got a very hot fire very quickly. My assumption is that the larger pieces afford more airflow and hence the hotter fire. Was this an anomaly?  If not, what can I use the smaller piece for ?  Thanks for any help b

Comments

• MNarracci said:

i am new to BGE. Thanks for having me in this forum. Learning a lot. I have a question about lump charcoal. I use my BGE as a pizza oven a lot. Recently I had a really hard time getting the temperature up to 600. I was attempting to use the smaller pieces of lump charcoal at the bottom of the bag. After a pretty good failure, I cleared the Egg and used larger pieces of lump charcoal. I got a very hot fire very quickly. My assumption is that the larger pieces afford more airflow and hence the hotter fire. Was this an anomaly?  If not, what can I use the smaller piece for ?  Thanks for any help b

Welcome to the site. What brand of charcoal are you using?  Rockwood and KJ big block are two of my favourites and come with larger chunks so this isn’t a problem. 

Alternatively using a kick ash basket or high que grate vs the stock charcoal grate will allow better airflow.