Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Any tips for smoking pork tenderloin?

Options
Greetings, all.  I am a newbie - have used my XL Egg to smoke a pork shoulder, grill a spatchcocked chicken, and grill a few steaks and burgers so far.  I think I'm getting the hang of it.  I want to smoke a pork tenderloin tomorrow.  Now I know many say its not worth smoking because there is not enough fat, but when I lived in Chicago I used to shop at Paulina Meat Market and they used to sell this amazing pepper-encrusted smoked pork tenderloin.  I'd like to try and recreate it down here in FLA.  My first though was to ask them if they would share any tips, but - as luck would have it - they are shut down for the week for their annual winter break!!  So, I just thought I'd throw the question out there on this forum to see if anyone has ideas to share.  Greatly appreciate it.  Thanks!!

Comments

• Aubie1
    Aubie1 Posts: 436
    Options
    For some reason if you don't get any replies recommend you go to pork forum and google smoked pork tenderloin. You should find some helpful info there.
    I would give you some tips but I have not done any pork tenderloins on the egg. Good luck.
    XL BGE and L BGE
  • NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    Options
    I normally....CI pan sear.  Finish indirect.  Don't over cook. I prefer searing first on this particularly lean cut to seal in as much moisture as possible.

I guess you could go L&S for some smoke to begin.  And finish with a sear.  
    LBGE 2013 & MM 2014
    Die Hard HUSKER & BRONCO FAN
    Flying Low & Slow in "Da Burg" FL