Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Struggling with temps for BBQ ribs

Options
Newbie here. My XL keeps jumping from 210 to 275, which in turn makes me constantly adjust the vents. Any advice? What range should I be looking for? When do I start closing down the vents.

Cooking the ribs now. About an hour in. Thanks

Comments

• milesvdustin
    Options
    I usually run 300 and leave them alone until they bend test or toothpick test. No wrapping. 

2 LBGE, Blackstone 36, Jumbo Joe

Egging in Southern Illinois (Marion)

• JohnInCarolina
    Options
    Get them set for fairly low and then just open them up a few millimeters more and wait 30 minutes for the temp to rise and settle in.  It’s much easier to increase the temp on an Egg than it is to drop it once it gets too high.
    "I've made a note never to piss you two off." - Stike
  • GrateEggspectations
    Options
    Not disputing your struggle, but I’ve never found the temps on my large jump around once the lump has ignited sufficiently and it’s had time to settle. 

For me, the smoking sweet spot is around 275 or so. 
  • littlerascal56
    Options
    I can’t keep my XL below 250 without the Flameboss running.  My old large was easy to stabilize at 250.  My XL loves 300 without a controller and bottom vent barely open.
  • Alpharetta_EggHead
    Options
    I usually run 300 and leave them alone until they bend test or toothpick test. No wrapping. 
    OK that gives me a lot of confidence. Do you monitor temps with a grill probe or the BGE dome thermometer? Grill grate is at 250, while Dome is at 300