Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lump hard wood

Options
I've been using Royal Oak Lump hardwood for about 2 years.  The "lumps" in my last 6 or so bags have been no larger then a quarter.  Does anyone have suggestions for Lump Hardwood other then the expensive Big Green brand?

Comments

• mlc2013
    mlc2013 Posts: 988
    Options
    rockwood check your local ace hardware

Long Island NY    
    1 XL BGE 12/17, 1 LG BGE 3/18, 1 MM BGE 3/18
  • jtcBoynton
    jtcBoynton Posts: 2,814
    Options
    If you have been happy with RO for the past 2 years, there isn't any reason to change.  Lump is brittle.  You have been getting roughly handled bags lately. Follow Ron's assessment method to reduce getting bags of broken up lump.  You may need to check different stores.  Check bags that have not been removed from the pallets - they tend to be less abused then those handled one at a time.  

Any brand can be mishandled and provide small pieces.  My very first bag of Rockwood was nothing but small small pieces.  I assume that my local ACE staff dropped it off the truck. The second bag was much better (they came in the same order). 
    Southeast Florida - LBGE
    In cooking, often we implement steps for which we have no explanations other than ‘that’s what everybody else does’ or ‘that’s what I have been told.’  Dare to think for yourself.

• lkapigian
    lkapigian Posts: 10,767
    Options
    FWIW, small pieces are fine. It happens 
    Visalia, Ca @lkapigian
  • OshawaDave
    OshawaDave Posts: 198
    Options