Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Boston Butt using Smobot

Options

This is the first time I've initiated or joined a discussion, mainly have been reading and trying to learn.  I cooked my second Boston Butt this past Saturday on my Medium BGE.  I've got a Smobot that I have been using for a couple of months with really good results on mainly the rib cooks I've done.  I didn't use it for the first Butt cook.  This Butt was about 5#, put it on around 8 AM with set point at 225.  Used both of the temp probes that come with the Smobot to monitor the temp.  Never opened the hood, temp held within 5 degrees of set point all day.  However, after 12-1/2 hours both the temp probes still didn't go over 190 so I opened it up and took the meat off.  Bone pulled out pretty easily and clean, pork was good but as you can imagine pretty dry.  Does someone have any input why neither of the probes got past 190?  I've also asked Smobot but I'm kind of baffled.  Thanks

Comments

• johnnyp
    johnnyp Posts: 3,932
    Options

well, my first thought is that the probes may be damaged. With other brands of probes I've used, the probe wires are pretty delicate and don't like the (sometimes) intense heat whipping around the plate setter. 

Step one is to look at your charting for the probes.  Was it constantly linear up to 190F, then flatlined?  Or was it still slowly climbing and hadn't exceeded 190F yet?